The North Bend Eagle



Arneal recognized for flood efforts

Published 10/30/19

LINCOLN – North Bend Eagle editor Nathan Arneal was one of those recognized at this year’s Step Forward Awards held Oct. 25 at Quarry Oaks Golf Club in Ashland.

Ten categories celebrated and honored volunteers throughout the state of Nebraska, with special recognition in three categories: Disaster, Lifetime Achievement and “Making a Difference.”

AwardNorth Bend editor Nathan Arneal was presented the ServeNebraska Media award for his efforts during the March flood. Lt. Governor Mike Foley presented the awards to the individuals and organizations recognized for their volunteer efforts throughout the state.

Nebraska’s unprecedented natural disaster brought out the best of “Neighbors Helping Neighbors.” The Step Forward Awards honored 15 groups and individuals for their selfless contributions to the survivors of Nebraska’s historic flooding.

Arneal was recognized as the Disaster Media Volunteer. His award read in part: “Arneal, owner/operator of his hometown newspaper, worked tirelessly to cover area flooding even though his own business and computer were destroyed. He immediately began filming flood updates and posting them to social media outlets keeping this Dodge County community of 1,200 well informed about the progression of the ravaging waters. His video updates and posts consisted of vital information such as road closures, rising waters, sewer capacity, evacuations, food trucks, laundry trucks, donation center information, survivor needs, volunteer registration site, and public information on the status of the community for concerned family and friends living outside of North Bend. The North Bend Flood Recovery Committee appointed Arneal as the Public Information Officer, making him the point person for media outlets around the country. All his time and efforts were done as an unpaid volunteer.

“On schedule, Arneal published a 16-page paper on March 20, 2019, which featured pictures and articles recounting local flood and recovery efforts.”

The Lifetime Achievement award is the highest honor bestowed upon a Nebraska citizen for their service to community. This year’s honorees were Dr. Tom and Nancy Osborne for their commitment to mentoring youth through their TeamMates program.

ServeNebraska is celebrating its 25th Anniversary this year and commemorating it with the Jamesena Moore Making a Difference Award. Named in honor of founding ServeNebraska commissioner Jamesena Moore, the inaugural honorees were Senator Ben and Diane Nelson for their vision of the importance of volunteerism in Nebraska.

Award honorees were selected by Governor Pete Ricketts in tribute to the significant volunteer contributions made throughout our state. For a complete listing of those honored visit

<<Back to the front page