The North Bend Eagle


Benders to have rare choice in council race

by Nathan Arneal
Published 5/8/24

• Photo ID required to vote

Nebraskans will be going to the polls next Tuesday, and for the first time in eight years North Benders will have a choice to make for their representatives on the city council.

The last three city council elections have featured two people running unopposed to fill two seats. You have to go back to 2016 to find the last contested city council election. At that time, current major Rod Scott and councilman Bart Bosco were elected from a field of four.
Bosco, who was reelected in 2020, is running for his third four-year term on the council.

His fellow incumbent, Alex Legge, is also running for reelection. Legge was appointed to the city council in 2019 to fill a vacancy created by Scott moving up to mayor following the death of mayor Dean Lux. He was then reelected in 2020. Legge also served on the city council in the 2000s.

Three men are challenging for the two council seats up for grabs: Jeremy Schwanebeck, Waylon Fischer and Jason Brown.

A primary election is required because the five-person field meets the primary criteria of double the number of available seats plus one. Next week’s vote will trim the field by one and the top four vote getters will advance to the general election in November.

One race that will not be appearing on Tuesday’s ballot is the North Bend Central school board. With only three candidates, Bob Feurer, Doug Hoops and Amy Williams, running for three seats, no primary election is necessary.

An uncontested school board race has been rare in the NBC district. This year will be the first time this century it has happened with at least four people running in each school board election since 2000.

Four of the last five school board elections have had at least six candidates, with the previous two needing primaries to trim the field to six candidates.

A local contest being contested is District 15 of the state legislature, where five candidates are running: Anthony Hanson, Roxie Kracl, Peter Mayberry, Scott Thomas and Dave Wordekemper.

The top two vote getters in the primary will advance to the general election in November. They will be running to replace Lynne Walz, who served the limit of two terms.

District 15 is made up of Dodge County and the northwest corner of Douglas County, including Valley.

Polls will be open Tuesday from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

For the first time, Nebraska voters will be need to present photo identification when voting, as required by a Nebraska constitutional amendment passed in 2022.

Nebraska driver’s licenses, state identification cards, Nebraska college IDs, U.S. passports and military IDs are all accepted forms of identification.


<<Back to the front page